Be Patient

Pink DotPatience is a virtue. Or so they say. It’s also one of the practices I struggle with most. The irony that impatience is an obstacle on the yoga path is not lost on me.

I ponder things. I think long and hard about what it is I want to accomplish or how I want to be or what I want my life to look like. I read, weigh options, meditate. Then I finally make a decision and I want it to happen. Now. Or preferably sooner.

I’m not afraid of the hard work required to achieve my goals. That comes naturally to me. What I’m afraid of is the uncertainty that comes along with being patient as I wind my way from where I am to where I want to be.

Uncertainty is really uncomfortable for me. I immediately want to know whether it’s going to work out or not. I want to skip over the journey and get to the destination. To get to the place that is certain, be it good or bad, because at least I’ll know what I’m up against.

Life has been serving up a lot of opportunities to practice my patience this year. It’s been humbling at times. Downright painful at others. The truth that keeps emerging, time and time again, is that there is magic in being patient. That uncertainty can be a marvelous yoga teacher.

What I’m learning is to enjoy the ride. That I have to be present for the journey, not just focused on the destination. That to get the magic, I’m also going to get the pain of uncertainty. Things will unfold as they are supposed to as long as I’m willing to grow and learn as I go. And in the process I just might get more than I ever imagined possible.

