Happy New Year!

Pink DotI love beginnings.  They are filled with excitement, hope, and possibility.  I think that is why I’m drawn to this first line of the Yoga Sutras over and over again.

Now begins the practice of yoga.  ~ Yoga Sutras of Patanjali I.1

This one short line is simple yet powerful.  It is all about beginning, from wherever you are right now, the practice of those things which are most important.  It says that you don’t have to be perfect but you do have to be willing, in each moment, to begin again.

At the beginning of a new year, we often find ourselves attaching so much expectation to that turning of a calendar page.  There are long lists of negatives we intend to banish from our lives.  If we slip up, we often give up.

How about being a bit kinder to ourselves this year?  Instead, let’s try focusing on the positive things we wish to grow in our lives.  Then let each day be a powerful new beginning in which to watch that growth take place.

I’m not going to lie.  It’s not always easy to keep beginning.  I sometimes get impatient and wonder when I’ll “get it” already.  It’s worth it though.  As I continually begin again I find my practices becoming stronger and, bit by bit, it does get easier.

Now, what do you want to begin practicing?

